The Historic Rondout Waterfront District “Downtown” Kingston
The Rondout neighborhood is located on the shore of Rondout Creek near where it meets the Hudson River. Initially a key port for the shipment of timber and agriculture to the colonies and beyond, the area boomed with the opening of the Delaware and Hudson Canal in 1828; it became a trade hub for coal from Northeast Pennsylvania, bluestone from the Catskill Mountains, cement from Rosendale, and bricks made from local clay. The area grew so rapidly that it incorporated as the Village of Rondout in 1849, and by 1872 it merged with the then-Town of Kingston to form today’s city. By the time the canal closed in 1899, the port area featured buildings in all the nineteenth century architectural styles.
Charmingly framed by the Kingston-Port Ewen Suspension Bridge, built in the 1920s, the neighborhood is referred to locally as the Rondout or the Strand (sometimes known to visitors as ‘Downtown’ as well). The Kingston Marina is located in the Rondout, a great place to book a ride on one of several tour boats of the Hudson River, and view the Rondout Lighthouse. The neighborhood is invitingly walkable and has a waterfront park, many charming restaurants, boutiques, and captivating architecture. There are several museums, art galleries, antique shops, and gift shops to explore. The Kingston Heritage Area Visitors Center is also in the Rondout Waterfront District. The neighborhood was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1979.