The City of Kingston, NY

    Welcome to the City of Kingston, NY

    Kingston, dating to the arrival of the Dutch in 1652, is a vibrant city with rich history and architecture, was the state's first capital, and a thriving arts community. City Hall is in the heart of the community at 420 Broadway, and is open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., except July & August (9 a.m. to 4 p.m.).  Come tour our historic City, with restaurants that are among the region's finest, and local shopping that promises unique finds.

    Historic Churches

    Kingston is home to many historic churches. The oldest church still standing is the First Reformed Protestant Dutch Church of Kingston which was organized in 1659. Referred to as The Old Dutch Church, it is located in Uptown Kingston. Many of the city's historic churches populate Wurts street (6 in one block) among them Hudson Valley Wedding Chapel is a recently restored church built in 1867 and now a chapel hosting weddings. Another church in the Rondout is located at 72 Spring Street. Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church was founded in 1849. The original church building at the corner of Hunter Street and Ravine Street burned to the ground in the late 1850s. The current church on Spring Street was built in 1874.

    Kingston, NY

    Kingston became New York's first capital in 1777, and was burned by the British on October 13, 1777, after the Battles of Saratoga. In the 19th century, the city became an important transport hub after the discovery of natural cement in the region, and had both railroad and canal connections.

    Kingston, NY

    The town of Rondout, New York, now a part of the city of Kingston, became an important freight hub for the transportation of coal from Honesdale, Pennsylvania to New York City through the Delaware and Hudson Canal. This hub was later used to transport other goods, including bluestone. Kingston shaped and shipped most of the bluestone made to create the sidewalks of New York City.

     

    Contact Us

    City Hall Address:
    420 Broadway
    Kingston, New York
    12401

    Phone:
    (845) 331-0080

    Kingston News

    7/6/2017 - Tennis facilities at Forsyth Park reopen after major restoration effort

    July 6, 2017

    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


    Tennis facilities at Forsyth Park reopen after major restoration effort


    KINGSTON, N.Y. Mayor Steve Noble is pleased to announce the completion of the restoration and resurfacing of the Ron Woods Tennis Facility, located at Forsyth Park.

    “I am very excited to reopen these tennis courts to the public this week,” said Mayor Noble. “Prior to this restoration, the facilities were in dire condition and did not meet the needs of our players. This was an off-shoot project of our substantial Forsyth Park improvement efforts that we began a few years ago. It’s an incredible feeling to go up to the park area now and see how far we have come.”

    The tennis court project cost approximately $150,000 to complete, which was funded primarily by a grant awarded to the City of Kingston in 2014 for $304,354 from the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation. The grant, which was written by the Mayor when he was employed as the City’s Environmental Program Operations Specialist, paid for a retrofit of the existing courts, fencing and lighting. The project also benefited from a substantial donation of $20,000 by Mr. Ron Woods and funding from the Mid-Hudson Valley Tennis Association.

    The project was managed by Dennis Larios of Brinnier and Larios, PC. The City’s Departments of Public Works and Parks and Recreation supported the effort by preparing the site and completing landscaping. The crack repair and paving was completed by Callanan Industies, Inc. of Kingston. The tennis court fencing was installed by DeCar Fence, Inc. of Poughkeepsie. Finally, the tennis court surfacing and striping was completed by Copeland Coation Co., Inc. of Nassau, N.Y., near Albany.

    ###